Lodges & camps in Chobe National Park

54 places to stay

Fifty-four places to stay in and around Chobe National Park, counted on 4 October 2026: twelve inside the park (one of them, Ghoha Hills, with its boundary unconfirmed), seventeen in Kasane and Kazungula, four in the forest reserves, eight on the Namibian bank of the river and thirteen in the Linyanti, Selinda and Kwando concessions. Prices run from about US$50 a person a night at a public campsite inside the park to US$4,327 a person a night at DumaTau in the Linyanti concession from June to October 2026.

Filters

Where it is

The park boundary decides more than the address. Inside are the public campsites, Chobe Game Lodge on the riverfront, the Savuti lodges, Nogatsaa Pans, Camp Linyanti and &Beyond's mobile camp; Ghoha Hills says it is inside but describes private roads, so it shows as unconfirmed. Kasane and Kazungula are outside the gate, however their lodges are marketed. Ngoma Safari Lodge, Muchenje and Chobe Elephant Camp stand in or above the Chobe Forest Reserve, and Camp Kuzuma in the Kazuma Forest Reserve. The eight Namibian-bank properties, houseboats included, are in Namibia's Zambezi Region, reached from Kasane by boat or by road through the Ngoma border. The Linyanti, Selinda and Kwando camps are in private concessions west of the park, where operators run night drives and walks that park rules forbid inside the boundary.

Price per person, per night
Who owns it
Facilities

We read 47 of the 54 properties' own websites in July 2026. A blank means we could not check, not that the facility is missing.

Arranged from the lodge

54 places to stay

Savuti Campsite

Budget · Inside the park · Park-run

The public campsite at Savuti, on DWNP land and run under a DWNP award by SKL Group of Camps, a Kasane company formed in 2008 that took over the campgrounds in 2009. It is the base for self-drivers exploring the Savuti Marsh and the Gubatsa Hills. Each of the 14 sites has a water standpipe, braai area and fireplace, and SKL describes ablution blocks with running hot and cold showers and flush toilets. There are no fences, and SKL's rules are blunt: stay within the campground, no generators, no wood collecting, quiet from 18:00 to 06:00. Reach it through Ghoha Gate from Kasane or Mababe Gate from Maun, with all your fuel, water and firewood on board.

$50 per person (SKL table, undated)

Not published by SKL

Savute Safari Lodge

Top-end · Inside the park · Safari company

A 24-bed lodge of timber chalets on the Savute Channel, built by Desert & Delta Safaris on the site of the old Lloyd's Camp, which its parent company Chobe Holdings bought in 1998. Game drives cover the Savute Marsh, and the lodge runs trips to the San rock paintings at the Gubatsa Hills. Its best feature for photographers is a sunken bench at the waterhole. Expect simplicity: solar power with generator back-up, fans and no air conditioning in the rooms, and no wifi apart from a guest laptop in the library. Children from six are accepted, and one of the 12 chalets is a family chalet.

From $690 pppn (reseller rate)

Closed 1 to 14 February 2026 (reseller dates); otherwise year-round

Chobe Game Lodge

Top-end · Inside the park · Safari company

The only permanent lodge on the Chobe riverfront inside the park, which is why so many Kasane hotels that claim to be 'in Chobe' are wrong. Chobe Holdings, the company that owns Desert & Delta Safaris, was formed in 1989 to buy into this lodge, and it remains the group's flagship. All 44 rooms face the river and are air-conditioned. The lodge launched solar-powered boats and electric game vehicles in 2014, and being inside, its morning drives leave as soon as the park opens. It accepts children of all ages, which is unusual at this price, and adds a midday eco tour, a spa and a 250-metre boardwalk.

From $1,090 pppn (reseller rate)

Not published

Chobe Bakwena Lodge

Top-end · Outside the gate · Owner-run

An intimate, privately owned lodge on the Chobe River east of Kasane, which the owning family bought in 2000 as a bare football pitch and replanted as riverine woodland. Fifteen chalets: ten river-view units and five treetop units raised 3.5 metres off the ground. Everything is in-house and in the price: two activities a day in the park (a game drive and a boat cruise), park fees, meals, local drinks, laundry and transfers to Kasane airport or the Zambian and Zimbabwean borders. Walkabouts, cycle tours and a sundowner cruise to the point where four countries meet complete the list. Children must be eight or older.

From $644 pppn

Not published

Muchenje Safari Lodge

Top-end · Outside the gate · Owner-run

An independently owned and owner-run lodge of cottages on the escarpment in the Chobe Forest Reserve, a short drive from the park, with no fences between the lodge and the park's western boundary. Being outside the park lets it offer what lodges inside cannot: a night-time safari and an early-morning game walk, weather permitting, alongside game drives into the western end of the park, a Sedudu boat cruise and lunch at Ihaha. The reseller's rate includes unlimited daily activities and park fees. Children must be eight or older. Choose it for the extra activities and a personal welcome; skip it if you want to sleep inside the boundary.

From $560 pppn (reseller rate)

Not published

Chobe Savanna Lodge

Top-end · Outside the gate · Safari company

Desert & Delta's lodge on the northern bank of the Chobe in Namibia's eastern Zambezi Region, looking across the river, which forms the border, to the park's Puku Flats. It has 13 safari chalets, which the operator now describes as 'thoughtfully refurbished', without printing a reopening date on its own site. Guests arrive from Kasane by boat. Activities include game drives, boat trips and a cultural visit, and the reseller's rate covers park fees and transfers. Children of all ages are welcome, though those aged 12 and under need privately booked activities. Chobe Holdings, the group behind Chobe Game Lodge, added the lodge to its portfolio in 2001.

From $520 pppn (reseller rate)

Closed 1 January to 31 March 2026 (reseller dates); reopening after refurbishment not dated by the operator

Wilderness Savuti

Top-end · Outside the gate · Safari company

Six tents on the Savute Channel in the private Linyanti Wildlife Reserve, run by Wilderness. Despite the name, and despite travel sites that file it under Chobe National Park, it is outside the park: Wilderness itself places it 'within the Linyanti Wildlife Reserve', west of the park's Savuti section. That matters for what you can do, because concession rules apply here. Wilderness lists game drives, birding, a hide, a sleep-out deck and a seasonal nature walk. The rate covers meals, local drinks, laundry, two activities a day and park fees, and from January to March 2027 it is the cheapest of the Wilderness camps in the Linyanti.

From $1,043 pppn

Year-round (every season priced on the rate table)

Selinda Explorers Camp

Top-end · Outside the gate · Safari company

The simplest of Great Plains Conservation's three Selinda camps, 'located in the heart of Botswana's private Selinda Reserve', a concession west of the park. Tents stand on raised platforms with flush toilets and hot showers, in the classic explorer style the name suggests. At US$1,280 a person it costs a little over half the from-rate at Selinda Camp and Zarafa, which makes it the realistic way into this reserve for many travellers. As a concession camp it follows concession rules, and Great Plains runs drives, walks and boating at its main Selinda camp. Capacity, airstrip and child policy are not printed, so ask.

From $1,280 pppn

Not published

King's Pool Camp

Top-end · Outside the gate · Safari company

Wilderness's lagoon camp in the remote Linyanti Wildlife Reserve, a private concession west of the park that it shares with DumaTau. Thatch-and-canvas suites look over a lagoon off the Linyanti River, and there is an underground hide in camp. Concession rules allow what the park forbids: guided walks alongside game drives in open vehicles, plus boat trips on the lagoon and the river. The rate covers meals, local drinks, laundry, activities and park fees. Wilderness's page says eight suites in one place and, in its FAQ, the same capacity as DumaTau's nine tents, so ask. Choose it for walking and water in one camp; at up to US$3,286 a night, it is among the dearest places in this list.

From $1,332 pppn

Year-round (every season priced on the rate table)

Selinda Camp

Top-end · Outside the gate · Safari company

Great Plains Conservation's main camp in the private Selinda Reserve, a concession west of the park, with an art-filled interior and a spa area. The rate is high, and it includes more than most: premium spirits and champagne, laundry and scheduled light-aircraft transfers from Maun or Kasane, on top of meals and activities. Because it is a concession camp, guides run open-vehicle drives, guided bush walks and boat trips, which visitors cannot do inside the park. There is a two-night minimum. Great Plains quotes single, child and private-vehicle rates only on request, so families should ask early.

From $2,250 pppn

Not published

Zarafa Camp

Top-end · Outside the gate · Safari company

Great Plains Conservation's most intimate camp in the private Selinda Reserve, west of the park: four tented suites overlooking the Zibadianja Lagoon, each with a copper bathtub and a private plunge pool. A separate Dhow Suite is sold on its own. Zarafa starts at the same US$2,250 a person as Selinda Camp, on the same fully inclusive basis, so the choice comes down to scale: four suites here against a larger main camp. For the fly-in guest who wants privacy and a lagoon view, this is the one. The page says less about activities than Selinda Camp's does, so ask Great Plains what runs from Zarafa.

From $2,250 pppn

Not published

Camp Savuti

Top-end · Inside the park · Safari company

Five Meru-style tents on the Savuti Channel, run by SKL Group of Camps, the Kasane company that also holds the park's Savuti and Linyanti campgrounds. Sun Destinations in Cape Town sells it internationally through the campsavuti.com site. The format is classic and simple: two guided game drives a day on the Savuti Marsh, a newly built main area, and a rate that covers meals, drinks, laundry and park fees. Fly-in guests land at the Savuti airstrip, about 40 minutes' flight from Maun or Kasane. Self-drivers are accepted too and pay their own gate fees. SKL does not say whether it is citizen-owned, so the camp is filed under Safari company.

From $655 pppn

Not published

Belmond Savute Elephant Lodge

Top-end · Inside the park · Safari company

Belmond's 12-tent lodge in the heart of the Savute Channel, on raised platforms, with its own airstrip and helipad. Belmond is a hotel group, and on 2026 reseller figures this is the most expensive lodge inside the park. What you get for it: at least two game activities a day, cultural activities, a lookout hide over the waterhole, a heated swimming pool and a spa tent, with meals and drinks included. Guests arrive by air, 50 minutes from Maun or 40 from Kasane. Belmond lists children's amenities and activities without an age, and chobe.com gives a minimum of six. Choose it for comfort in Savuti; skip it if the budget matters.

From $1,014 pppn (reseller rate)

Not published

Elephant Valley Lodge

Mid-range · Outside the gate · Ownership unconfirmed

A 20-tent camp overlooking the Lesoma Valley on the outskirts of Kasane, inland from the river and outside the park. Eight tents look over the valley and its waterhole, and twelve sit in the forest. Activities are daily 4x4 game drives and boat cruises in the park, plus Victoria Falls day trips. Reservations run through Anthology, the same South African office that handles Chobe Marina Lodge; who owns the lodge is not stated. Choose a valley tent if the waterhole is the point, for about US$20 a night more on the reseller's rates. Note the reseller's rule that children under six cannot join drives or cruises.

From $475 pppn (reseller rate)

Not published

Chobe Elephant Camp

Mid-range · Outside the gate · Safari company

A tented camp on a ridge overlooking the Chobe Forest Reserve, west of the park's riverfront section, with views towards the Chobe River; chobe.com plots it next to Muchenje. Bush Ways Botswana, a safari company, runs it, and the old chobeelephantcamp.com address now leads to Bush Ways' own site. Activities are game drives, river activities and a community visit. On reseller figures it is the cheapest of the four forest-reserve lodges, with park fees in the package, and it takes children from two. Some page titles and resellers put it in the national park; it stands outside, in the forest reserve.

From $435 pppn (reseller rate)

Not published

DumaTau Camp

Top-end · Outside the gate · Safari company

Wilderness's nine-tent camp in the Linyanti concession, which Wilderness manages exclusively and shares with King's Pool and Little DumaTau, west of the park. The camp overlooks a hippo pool on the Savute Channel. Activities are dawn and dusk game drives, guided walks, boat trips on the channel and the Linyanti River, and a hide; Wilderness also lists a barge and catch-and-release fishing. At US$4,327 a person a night from June to October 2026, it carries the highest published rate of any property in this list, with meals, local drinks, laundry, activities and park fees included. The nearest airstrip is DumaTau's own.

From $1,914 pppn

Year-round (every season priced on the rate table)

Nogatsaa Campsite

Budget · Inside the park · Safari company

Six private sites near Kabunga Pan in the Nogatsaa area of the park's interior, run by the company behind Ghoha Hills and Nogatsaa Pans and listed by the South African group Dream Hotels & Resorts among its properties. The operator places it 'within the heart of Chobe National Park'. Each site takes up to four people and two vehicles and has its own fire pit; the shared ablutions have hot water from a firewood-heated system, and there is a hide over the pan. Nothing is fenced and there is no fuel, telephone or internet. The operator asks campers to enter Sedudu Gate by 15:30 at the latest for the drive south.

From $80 pppn

Not stated; the 2026 rate covers the whole year

Kubu Lodge

Mid-range · Outside the gate · Owner-run

A small, privately owned and managed lodge on the Chobe riverfront near Kasane, established in 1986 and, in its own words, 'the longest owner-managed establishment in the Chobe'. Eleven thatched units, one of them a family unit for four. The appeal is choice: you can take bed and breakfast at US$211 a person and buy activities as you go, or book full board with two game drives or cruises a day, park fees and airport transfers in the price. The lodge sums itself up as 'No radios, no television, no five-star prices', which tells you what kind of place it is. It stands outside the park.

From $211 pppn

Not published

&Beyond Chobe Under Canvas

Top-end · Inside the park · Safari company

&Beyond's small mobile camp inside the park: five tents that, according to a guest quoted by chobe.com, move every six days. &Beyond places it near the water's edge 'in the park's northern reaches', while chobe.com plots it in the Savute area, so the camp's position depends on when you go; ask &Beyond where it will be on your dates. Days follow two game drives, and a stay includes one photographic river safari aboard the Pangolin Voyager houseboat. Guests start and finish in Kasane, with airport transfers in the reseller's rate. &Beyond, a safari company, publishes no rate or child policy on the page, so those come from chobe.com.

From $685 pppn (reseller rate)

Closed 3 January to 6 February 2026; otherwise about 7 February to early January (reseller dates)

Ngoma Safari Lodge

Top-end · Outside the gate · Safari company

Machaba Safaris' lodge in the Chobe Forest Reserve, on a plateau above the Chobe floodplain on the western side of the transit road between Kasane and the Ngoma border post. It is built in contemporary style from volcanic rock and, on reseller figures, is the most expensive of the forest-reserve lodges. Activities are game drives and river cruises, the cruises marked with an asterisk on Machaba's own page, so ask what conditions apply. The reseller's rate includes a community levy and park fees. Children under ten are accepted only if you take the whole lodge. It closes from early January to late March.

From $768 pppn (reseller rate)

Closed 5 January to 28 March 2026 (reseller dates)

Chobe Safari Lodge

Mid-range · Outside the gate · Ownership unconfirmed

Kasane's oldest resort, founded in 1959, on the town riverfront ten minutes' drive from Sedudu Gate and the airport. It has 76 rooms, from restored heritage rondavels to family rooms, and a sheltered campsite of 23 stands with power points, so campers and lodge guests share the same riverfront. A renovation that began in January 2024 closed the dining area, jetty and river rooms for a time; a reopening offer from December 2025 suggests the work is finished. Its pages do not state who owns it, though its site groups it with Kwando Safaris and Nata Lodge under 'Our Lodges'. The activity list runs from cruises and drives to tiger fishing and scenic flights.

From $500 pppn (reseller rate)

Not published

Water Lily Lodge

Budget · Outside the gate · Ownership unconfirmed

A small budget lodge on the bank of the Chobe River in Kasane, outside the park, with ten standard rooms, two budget rooms and guide rooms, for a maximum of 30 guests. At US$60 to US$80 per person sharing on its own site, it has the lowest room rate we found in the Kasane area, which makes it useful for self-drivers between camping legs or for travellers who buy park activities separately. The site says little else: no meal basis, no activity list, no child policy and no ownership statement beyond treating guests 'as part of our family'. Ask exactly what the rate covers before you book.

From $60 pppn

Not published

Cresta Mowana Safari Resort & Spa

Mid-range · Outside the gate · Safari company

Kasane's big resort hotel on the Chobe River, with 108 air-conditioned rooms and suites, all with river views and balconies, a spa and a nine-hole golf course. Cresta Hotels, a Southern African hotel management group with hotels in Zimbabwe, Botswana and South Africa, runs it; the site does not say whether Cresta also owns it. The activity list is long: game drives and boat cruises at several times of day, a Mabele village visit with a canoe trip, an Impalila village tour across the border in Namibia, a crocodile farm and Victoria Falls day trips. It suits travellers who want hotel comforts and an easy base outside the park.

From $415 pppn (reseller rate)

Not published

Chobe River Lodge

Mid-range · Outside the gate · Ownership unconfirmed

A 12-room boutique lodge on the banks of the Chobe River in Kasane, outside the park. It appears to be the former Garden Lodge under a new name: chobe.com's page for Chobe River Lodge still describes The Garden Lodge in its text, though the lodge itself does not say so. Rooms are riverview suites, a family room and courtyard rooms, from US$360 per person on its own site. Activities are sold separately, with boat cruises from US$65 and game drives from US$75, which suits travellers who want to choose. Ownership is not stated, and bookings go through Booking Botswana as well as the lodge's front office.

From $360 pppn

Not published

Chobe Princess

Top-end · Outside the gate · Safari company

A small fleet of houseboats on the Chobe River, now sold as 'Chobe Princess by Mantis' within the Zambezi Queen Collection; it is no longer on Desert & Delta's list of properties. The boats are based on the Namibian side of the river and cruise the water opposite the park, with guests transferred from Kasane. Two- and three-night cruises include meals, local drinks, water-based activities, fishing licences and park fees, on chobe.com's listing, priced in South African rand. The appeal is waking up on the river with the park across the water; the limits are that game viewing is from the boat and that children are accepted only with restrictions.

From ZAR 19,839 per person, 2-night cruise (reseller rate)

Year-round (reseller)

Zambezi Queen

Top-end · Outside the gate · Safari company

The flagship houseboat of the Zambezi Queen Collection, a member of the Mantis Collection, which runs a fleet of houseboats and a land-based lodge on the Chobe River where it forms the border between Namibia and Botswana. The boat is based in Namibian waters and guests board from Kasane. Two- and three-night cruises include meals, local drinks, water-based game viewing, seasonal fishing and one village tour, priced in South African rand by chobe.com. Game drives in Chobe National Park are not included. Children under seven are not accepted, per the reseller. Choose it for a slow, comfortable river trip, and pair it with a Kasane lodge if you want game drives.

From ZAR 27,774 per person, 2-night cruise (reseller rate)

Year-round (reseller)

Senyati Safari Camp

Budget · Outside the gate · Owner-run

An owner-run camp in the Kasane Forest, next to the park but inland and away from the river, built between 2008 and 2010 around a floodlit waterhole. Its draw is the Senyati Elephant Bunker, an underground hide at the water's edge. There are 20 campsites, each with its own ablution block, eight self-catering chalets (four of them family chalets) and a glamping unit. Everything is self-catering, so stock up in Kasane. The camp also arranges game drives, day tours, tiger fishing, Victoria Falls trips and helicopter flights. Choose it for the waterhole and the independence; skip it if you want to be on the river.

Rates on request

Not published

Jackalberry Chobe

Mid-range · Outside the gate · Owner-run

A new tented camp on the banks of the Chobe River in Kasane, outside the park, built and operated by the family behind Thebe River Safaris. It calls itself 'Chobe's newest, fully inclusive tented camp' and 'the first of its kind in the Chobe region', though it does not print the year it opened. Sixteen tents take up to 32 guests and are sold by view: river, partial river or bush. Game drives and boat cruises go into the park. The rate is fully inclusive, but the amount is not published, so ask for a quote and compare it with Elephant Valley Lodge and Chobe Bakwena, the nearest equivalents.

Rates on request

Not published; opening year not stated

The Old House

Budget · Outside the gate · Owner-run

A small family-owned and family-run guest lodge on President Avenue in Kasane, between Hunters Mall and the golf course, overlooking the Chobe River and outside the park. Ten rooms, three of them family rooms, with a bar and restaurant. It works as a bed and breakfast and says it is still rated the top B&B in Kasane on Tripadvisor. The guesthouse books a three-hour game drive from 06:00, a three-hour boat cruise from 15:00, full-day safaris and Victoria Falls day trips, without publishing prices. Choose it if you want a small town base run by a family and plan to buy activities one at a time.

Rates on request

Not published

Big Five Chobe Lodge (formerly Toro Safari Lodge)

Budget · Outside the gate · Ownership unconfirmed

The former Toro Safari Lodge in Kazungula, east of Kasane and outside the park, now trading under a new name and, in its own words, 'now under new Management'. The lodge and ten of its chalets stand on the banks of the Chobe River. There are 18 chalets in all, including two family rooms, and 18 campsites each with its own ablution block, plus a group campsite. Activities are an open game drive, a village tour, a sunset boat cruise and a Victoria Falls day trip, each with a minimum of four people. The new management is not named, and no rates were read, so ask before you book.

Rates on request

Not published

Little DumaTau

Top-end · Outside the gate · Safari company

A five-tent camp in the Linyanti concession that Wilderness manages, named on DumaTau's page as 'a 5-tent intimate camp situated within the same concession'. That sentence is nearly all Wilderness publishes: there is no standalone page in its Linyanti menu, which lists only King's Pool and DumaTau, and no rate, activity list or child policy. Its current status is therefore something to confirm with Wilderness. If it is running, expect the concession's rules and the style of its sisters, where drives, walks and boating are all offered, outside the park and under concession rules.

Rates on request

Not published

Linyanti Bush Camp

Top-end · Outside the gate · Safari company

African Bush Camps' classic six-suite camp in the Linyanti Private Concession, west of the park. The operator's page headlines it as an escape 'to Chobe National Park', but its own fact panel puts it in the private concession, outside the park, where concession rules apply. The camp has a pool and runs on solar power, and it takes guests aged 12 and over. No nightly rate is published; the page lists offers instead, among them 'Partner pays 50%' for honeymooners and free stays for children 15 and under from January to May and from November to mid-December 2026. Ask for a quote with those offers applied.

Rates on request

Not published

Linyanti Ebony

Top-end · Outside the gate · Safari company

The small family camp among African Bush Camps' Linyanti properties: three tented suites and one family suite in the Linyanti Private Concession, west of the park. Unlike its sisters Linyanti Bush Camp and Linyanti Expeditions, which take guests from 12, Ebony welcomes all ages, which makes it the operator's obvious choice for younger children. The page headline speaks of the wonders of Chobe National Park, but the fact panel places the camp in the private concession, outside the park. African Bush Camps prints no rate, airstrip or activity list on the page, so ask for the details before you compare it with other family options.

Rates on request

Not published

Linyanti Expeditions

Top-end · Outside the gate · Safari company

African Bush Camps' expedition-style camp in the Linyanti Private Concession, west of the park: six tents, which the operator pairs with six 'Star Suite Extensions'. It takes guests aged 12 and over. Like the operator's other Linyanti camps, it stands in the private concession, outside the national park, so concession rules govern what the guides can do, although the page does not list activities. No rate, airstrip or open months are printed. Choose it if you want the Linyanti in a lighter, expedition format; ask African Bush Camps what the star suites involve and what a stay costs before you compare it with the Wilderness camps.

Rates on request

Not published

Chobe Marina Lodge

Mid-range · Outside the gate · Ownership unconfirmed

A thatched riverfront lodge in Kasane, outside the park, with studios, suites and honeymoon suites, sold through Anthology, a South African reservations office that also handles Elephant Valley Lodge. Before you plan around it, know this: on 17 November 2024 a fire broke out at the lodge, 'affecting the main building'. The lodge's own recovery page says all guests and staff were evacuated without injury, and its last update is dated 29 November 2024. The lodge has not confirmed on that page whether it is fully operating again, so ask Anthology directly before booking. When running, it offered game drives, an afternoon river cruise into the park and a full-day game activity.

Rates on request

Status unconfirmed since a fire in November 2024

Chobe River Camp

Mid-range · Outside the gate · Safari company

A Gondwana Collection lodge with a separate campsite in Namibia's Zambezi Region, 4 km from the Ngoma border post on the B8 and about 60 km west of Kasane. It is sometimes listed among Kasane lodges, but it is in Namibia: you reach it by road through the Ngoma border, and the park's Ngoma Gate, at the western end of the riverfront, is beside that border post. That makes it a practical overnight stop for self-drivers arriving from the Zambezi Region or heading there. Gondwana is a Namibian lodge group. Rates, capacity and activities were not read, so check them with Gondwana before you plan around it.

Rates on request

Not published

Thebe River Safaris

Budget · Outside the gate · Owner-run

A family company that started in 1994 with a single Land Cruiser and now runs a lodge, campsite and restaurant on President Avenue in the centre of Kasane, outside the park. The founder's sons run it with him. Rooms are twin rooms and a family room around a courtyard; the campsite has two communal ablution blocks. From here the company sells game drives, boat cruises, longer mobile safaris and Victoria Falls day trips, with three-hour drives in the morning, at midday and in the afternoon. No rates are published, so ask. The same family has opened Jackalberry Chobe, a fully inclusive tented camp on the river.

Rates on request

Not published

Lebala Camp

Top-end · Outside the gate · Community or local

Kwando Safaris' camp of tented suites on stilts in the Kwando Private Concession, which spans 232,000 hectares in the far north of Botswana, west of the park. Kwando describes itself as 'a proudly 100% citizen owned Botswana company', which makes Lebala and its sister Lagoon the only citizen-owned places to stay in this list. Concession rules allow off-road tracking drives, night drives, nature walks and helicopter safaris. There are eight suites and one family suite. Guests fly about 45 minutes from Maun or Kasane to the Lebala airstrip, 20 minutes from camp, and a free three-hour road transfer links Lebala with Lagoon. Kwando publishes no rates.

Rates on request

Not published

Lagoon Camp

Top-end · Outside the gate · Community or local

Kwando Safaris' riverside camp in the Kwando Private Concession, west of the park, with rooms that look across to Namibia's Zambezi Region. Kwando calls itself 100 percent citizen-owned, so Lagoon and its sister Lebala are the only citizen-owned stays in this list. There are eight tented suites and one family suite. Activities lean on the water and on predators: game drives that track wild dogs, and cruises on a double-decker boat. The Lagoon airstrip is about 15 minutes from camp and about 50 minutes' flight from Maun or Kasane, and a free three-hour road transfer links it with Lebala. Kwando publishes no rates and states no child policy.

Rates on request

Not published

Zovu Elephant Lodge

Mid-range · Outside the gate · Owner-run

A family-operated lodge of five chalets on the Namibian bank of the Chobe River, in its own words 'just opposite Kasane, Botswana'. It is in Namibia's Zambezi Region, so reaching it from Kasane means a boat transfer or a border crossing, and every park visit means coming back into Botswana and paying the park fee. Beyond its location, size and family operation, the lodge's site gave little away: no rates, activities or child policy were read. Choose it if you want a very small lodge and are happy to arrange activities with the family; ask first how they get guests to and from the park.

Rates on request

Not published

Chobe Water Villas

Mid-range · Outside the gate · Safari company

A lodge of water villas on the Namibian side of the Chobe River, run by O&L Leisure, part of Namibia's Ohlthaver & List group. It is often listed among Kasane riverfront lodges, but it is in Namibia's Zambezi Region; its old domain, chobewatervillas.com, now redirects to O&L Leisure's Zambezi page, which lists 'Chobe Water Villas Zambezi'. Little else was read: no rates, capacity, activities or child policy. Guests from Kasane cross the river, and visits to the park mean coming back into Botswana and paying the park fee. Ask O&L Leisure for current details before you build a trip around it.

Rates on request

Not published

Pangolin Chobe Hotel

Top-end · Outside the gate · Safari company

A 14-room hotel on the plateau above the Chobe River in Kasane, owned and managed by Pangolin Photo Safaris and built around photography. The park boundary is, in its own words, 'a few hundred meters away'. Pangolin's eight-seat, shallow-hulled photo boats with gimbals and rotating seats are moored below the hotel, and its page says Canon cameras and lenses come with the room. It sells packages rather than nights: the seven-day Best of the Chobe runs from March to November from US$5,495 a person. All rooms are en suite and air-conditioned. Choose it if photography is the point of the trip; skip it if you only want a bed.

Packages from $5,495 (7 days)

Packages run March to November

Pangolin Voyager

Top-end · Outside the gate · Safari company

Pangolin Photo Safaris' houseboat, based on the Namibian side of the Chobe with the park as the opposite bank. The current boat is new, built in Windhoek to replace the original Pangolin Voyager bought in 2015, and Pangolin describes it as the first solar-powered all-aluminium houseboat on the continent. It has five identical cabins, cruises at around 4 to 5 km/h and has an eight-seat photo boat alongside. Guests make a short crossing from Kasane to board. Like the Pangolin Chobe Hotel, it is sold in photographic packages from March to November, and &Beyond's Chobe Under Canvas uses it for its included river safari.

Packages from $5,495 (7 days)

Packages run March to November

Linyanti Legodimo

Top-end · Outside the gate · Safari company

A new camp that African Bush Camps announces as 'Coming 2027' and as its newest Icon Experience. Linyanti Legodimo, the operator says, translates as 'paradise' in Setswana. The name and its place in the operator's Linyanti menu point to the Linyanti concession west of the park, outside the national park, but the page gives no location, capacity, rate or opening month. It is listed here so you know it exists when you plan a 2027 trip. Until African Bush Camps publishes details, its open camps in the same area, Linyanti Bush Camp, Linyanti Ebony and Linyanti Expeditions, are the ones you can book.

Rates on request

Opens 2027

Linyanti Campsite

Budget · Inside the park · Park-run

Five sites on the Linyanti River on the park's north-western boundary, run by SKL Group of Camps on a DWNP award. This is the national park's own Linyanti section, a separate place from the private Linyanti concession next door, where the camps charge four figures a night. The campsite is remote: you reach it along the sandy Linyanti track from Savuti, and SKL lists ablution blocks with showers and little else. Bring everything, keep to the campground, as nothing is fenced, and plan your fuel for the round trip. SKL's rules apply here as at Savuti: no generators, no wood collecting inside the park and quiet from 18:00 to 06:00.

$50 per person (SKL table, undated)

Not published by SKL

Nogatsaa Pans Chobe Lodge

Top-end · Inside the park · Safari company

The one lodge in the park's remote Nogatsaa area, built on the edge of Kwikamba Pan about 80 km from Kasane, with 12 tents on raised platforms. It belongs to the same group as Ghoha Hills; the South African company Dream Hotels & Resorts lists both among its hotels, though the lodge's site does not say whether Dream owns or only manages them. Game drives run morning and afternoon, including along the Ngwezumba river bed, with stargazing, sundowners and a spa. For the fly-in guest it is a short hop: a light aircraft from Kasane and eight minutes by road. The rains close it from January to March.

From $607 pppn

Closed January to March; open April to December

Ghoha Hills Savuti Lodge

Top-end · Boundary unconfirmed · Safari company

A tented lodge on the ledges of the Ghoha Hills, looking out over the Savuti plains, with 11 tents including two for families. It is the sister of Nogatsaa Pans; Dream Hotels & Resorts, a South African hotel group, lists it among its properties. The boundary is the open question. The lodge says it lies 'within the Chobe National Park', yet its activities page speaks of 'our private network of roads' and a private waterhole, which suggests a lease site on the eastern edge of Savuti near Ghoha Gate. Until DWNP or the lodge settles it, the location is marked unconfirmed. Activities include game drives, the Savuti Marsh, a climb to rock paintings, helicopter flights and a spa.

From $636 pppn

Year-round (every season priced in the 2026 rate table)

River View Lodge

Mid-range · Outside the gate · Owner-run

A family-run lodge in the Kasane area, on the Kazungula side of town by chobe.com's map, with rooms, chalets and a private home. Its own site says little beyond 'A family-run establishment where service is our top priority' and a list of activities: game drives and boat cruises in the park and day trips to Victoria Falls. The value is in the reseller's package, which puts breakfast, dinner, high tea, a morning drive and an afternoon cruise into a rate from US$289 a person. Park fees come on top. The homepage prints no email or phone number, so the reseller may be the simpler route.

From $289 pppn (reseller rate)

Not published

Chobe Chilwero Lodge, an A&K Sanctuary

Top-end · Outside the gate · Safari company

Abercrombie & Kent's hilltop lodge in the Kasane Forest Reserve, on the edge of the park with an elevated view over the Chobe River; it used to trade as Sanctuary Chobe Chilwero. Fifteen standalone suites include three family suites and one with a pool. The rate is fully inclusive: meals and drinks, two game activities a day by vehicle or boat, park fees, laundry, airport transfers and medical evacuation cover. Stay longer and the nightly price drops, from US$965 for up to three nights to US$724 from seven. A&K calls it great for families and runs children's activities; chobe.com adds that children aged 5 and under need a private vehicle.

From $965 pppn

Not published

Camp Kuzuma

Top-end · Outside the gate · Ownership unconfirmed

A tented-chalet camp in the Kazuma Forest Reserve near the Zimbabwe border, south-east of Kasane and outside the park. Almost everything known about it comes from chobe.com, because the camp's own domain, campkuzuma.com, now redirects to an address that does not resolve. On chobe.com's figures it opens from April to November, charges from US$540 a person in the shoulder months and US$765 from May to October, and includes meals, local drinks, two activities a day and laundry, with transfers extra. Children under seven are not accepted. Who owns it is not stated. Confirm that it is operating before you pay a deposit.

From $540 pppn (reseller rate)

April to November (closed December to March, reseller dates)

Chobe Bush Lodge

Mid-range · Outside the gate · Ownership unconfirmed

The newer sister of Chobe Safari Lodge, opened in 2014 and set deeper into the bush behind it, with rooms looking out towards the park. It has 38 en-suite rooms and four family rooms. There is no separate website any more (chobebushlodge.com returns an error), so it is described and booked through chobesafarilodge.com, and the activities are the same: boat cruises, game drives, tiger fishing, village tours and scenic flights. Choose it over the main lodge for a newer room away from the riverfront; choose the main lodge if you want the river at your door. Its pages do not state who owns it.

From $500 pppn (reseller rate)

Not published

Ihaha Campsite

Budget · Inside the park · Park-run

Ten sites on the Chobe riverfront, about 35 km west of Kasane, and with Chobe Game Lodge the only place to sleep on the riverfront inside the park. Kwalate Safaris, a company with its office in Maun, runs it; the site is DWNP land under concession, although Kwalate's own page does not mention DWNP. Facilities, in Kwalate's words: shared ablution blocks with flush toilets, solar-heated showers, water standpipes, a fire pit and braai stand per site, daily refuse removal and no electricity. The camp is unfenced, so animals walk through it. Kwalate also sells morning and evening game drives and boat cruises, and no firewood is sold on site.

Rates on request

Not published by Kwalate

Ichingo Chobe River Lodge

Mid-range · Outside the gate · Safari company

A tented lodge on the Namibian side of the Chobe River, on Impalila Island by chobe.com's map, run by the Zambezi Queen Collection, a member of the Mantis Collection. Guests reach it from Kasane by boat. Activities centre on the water, with boat trips and fishing. The reseller quotes rates in South African rand that include meals, local drinks and two activities a day. Game viewing inside Chobe National Park means crossing back into Botswana, where the park fee applies on each entry. Choose it for river life and fishing; for land game viewing in the park, a Kasane base is simpler.

From ZAR 7,789 pppn (reseller rate)

Not published

Camp Linyanti

Top-end · Inside the park · Safari company

SKL Group of Camps' small camp on the Linyanti River: five Meru-style tents with en-suite bathrooms and air conditioning, beside SKL's public Linyanti campground. SKL's page has guests fly to Saile airstrip, then drive about two hours 'through Chobe National Park's heart', and offers game drives in the park; it does not say in one sentence that the camp itself is inside the boundary, and the placement here follows that description. Activities are game drives, birding and stargazing. SKL publishes no rate, open months or child policy, so this is a camp to ask about directly. Like its Savuti sister, it is sold as a simple, small camp.

Rates on request

Not published

Side by side

Good to know about staying here

Inside the park you can camp at Ihaha on the riverfront or at Savuti, Linyanti and Nogatsaa, or stay at one of eight lodges and camps, half of them in Savuti. On the riverfront itself, Chobe Game Lodge is the only lodge inside the park and Ihaha the only campsite; every Kasane hotel is outside the gate. A night costs about US$50 to US$80 a person at the campsites (2026 rate sheets and SKL's older table), from US$607 a person at Nogatsaa Pans, the cheapest lodge inside, and up to US$4,327 a person at DumaTau in the Linyanti concession from June to October 2026.

Only two places in this list are citizen-owned: Lebala and Lagoon in the Kwando concession, whose operator, Kwando Safaris, calls itself 100 percent citizen-owned. The public campsites at Ihaha, Savuti and Linyanti are DWNP land run by private concessionaires, Kwalate Safaris and SKL Group of Camps, neither of which publishes anything on community payments. Several Kasane lodges are family businesses run by their owners, among them Kubu Lodge, Chobe Bakwena, Thebe River Safaris and The Old House. Chobe Safari Lodge shares a website menu with Kwando Safaris but does not state its own ownership. Eight properties do not say who owns them and are marked Ownership unconfirmed.

Every price on this page is in US dollars.

Rates checked on 4 October 2026, per person per night sharing, from each property's own website or rate sheet where one is published. Desert & Delta, Belmond, &Beyond, Bush Ways, Machaba and several Kasane lodges publish none, so those figures come from two resellers, chobe.com and the Siyabona network (safari.co.za), and are marked as a reseller rate; the houseboat and Ichingo figures from chobe.com are in South African rand. SKL's campsite table is undated. Kwando Safaris, African Bush Camps and several smaller lodges publish no rates at all. Park entry is P270 per non-resident per day for a private visitor and P190 on an operator's activity, and many Kasane packages leave it out, so check what your rate includes.

Facilities and activities come from each property's own website, read on 4 October 2026, and for the campsites from the operators' own pages and rate sheets. We record only what that source states. A blank means the source did not say, not that the facility is missing. Camp Kuzuma has no working website, so nothing is recorded for it, and child policies marked as the reseller's come from chobe.com.