Chobe River Lodge
Small riverside boutique lodge · Kasane riverfront, outside the park · Chobe River Lodge
A 12-room boutique lodge on the banks of the Chobe River in Kasane, outside the park. It appears to be the former Garden Lodge under a new name: chobe.com's page for Chobe River Lodge still describes The Garden Lodge in its text, though the lodge itself does not say so. Rooms are riverview suites, a family room and courtyard rooms, from US$360 per person on its own site. Activities are sold separately, with boat cruises from US$65 and game drives from US$75, which suits travellers who want to choose. Ownership is not stated, and bookings go through Booking Botswana as well as the lodge's front office.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Small, at 12 rooms
- Riverview suites on the Chobe bank
- Activities can be booked one at a time
- A family room
Cons
- Meal basis of the own-site rate not stated
- No children under 4, per the reseller
- Ownership not published
- Reseller rate runs well above the own-site figure
What's here
- Family rooms
Arranged from the lodge:
- Game drives
- Boat trips
Read from Chobe River Lodge's own website in July 2026. Anything not listed we could not confirm, which is not the same as it being absent.
What the park charges on top
The rate above buys you a bed. Chobe National Park charges its own entry fee for every day you are inside. Here is what that adds up to.
- Park entryP270 a day for non-residents, roughly $20 at P13.5 to the dollar.
- $20per person, per day
- VehicleP115 a day for a foreign-registered vehicle, roughly $9 (P30 for a Botswana-registered or hired car).
- $9per vehicle, per day
Three nights means three days inside, so two adults sharing one vehicle pay $147 in park fees before anyone pays for a bed.
The full fee schedule for Chobe National ParkRates at Chobe River Lodge
From $360 pppn. Own site: courtyard and riverview rooms 'From $360 Per Person Sharing', basis not stated; boat cruises from US$65 and game drives from US$75 extra. Reseller chobe.com: US$511 (January to March) and US$550 (April to December) per person sharing per night with breakfast, dinner and airport transfers, two-night minimum.
What the rate covers is not confirmed. We do not know yet whether meals, drinks and activities are included, so read this as the bed only.
Every figure on this page is in US dollars.
Rates checked on 4 October 2026, per person per night sharing, from each property's own website or rate sheet where one is published. Desert & Delta, Belmond, &Beyond, Bush Ways, Machaba and several Kasane lodges publish none, so those figures come from two resellers, chobe.com and the Siyabona network (safari.co.za), and are marked as a reseller rate; the houseboat and Ichingo figures from chobe.com are in South African rand. SKL's campsite table is undated. Kwando Safaris, African Bush Camps and several smaller lodges publish no rates at all. Park entry is P270 per non-resident per day for a private visitor and P190 on an operator's activity, and many Kasane packages leave it out, so check what your rate includes.
Questions about Chobe River Lodge
Is Chobe River Lodge the old Garden Lodge?
Probably. chobe.com's page for Chobe River Lodge still describes the property as The Garden Lodge, and a search for the old name leads to it, but the lodge's own site does not confirm the change.
What does Chobe River Lodge cost?
The lodge's own site gives rooms from US$360 per person sharing without stating the meal basis, with boat cruises from US$65 and game drives from US$75 extra. chobe.com sells it at US$511 to US$550 per person with breakfast, dinner and airport transfers.
Is Chobe River Lodge good for families?
There is one family room. chobe.com says children under 4 are not accepted; the lodge's own site publishes no child policy, so confirm before booking.